2 min

The LEZ continues to multiply in France

While Low Emission Zones (LEZ) continue to grow, their existence remains relatively unknown from the public. In fact, according to Le Journal Des Flottes, in 2021, more than 60% of the population ignored the existence of these zones. This is quite a feat when you consider that larger cities have already adopted them and that some of them will be reinforced in the future…

A new LEZ is introduced

After the introduction of LEZ in large cities such as Rouen, Lyon, Nice, Toulouse or Toulon, it’s Marseille’s turn to join them. From this Thursday, September 1st, the metropolis of Aix-Marseille-Provence is indeed prohibited to let Crit’Air 5 and non-classified vehicles circulate freely. However, other cities also implemented their new restrictions on Thursday:

  • Grand Lyon: after the prohibition of Crit’Aire 3 vehicles, light trucks and heavy goods vehicles circulation, Greater Lyon will also have to ban Crit’Air 5 vehicles.
  • Rouen-Normandie : the metropolis continues to ban all private vehicles, but extends its scope of application to 13 municipalities (Amfreville-la-Mi-Voie, Bihorel, Bois-Guillaume, Bonsecours, Darnétal, Déville-lès-Rouen, Notre-Dame-de-Bondeville, Grand Quevilly, Mesnil-Esnard, Petit-Quevilly, Rouen, Saint-Léger-du-Bourg-Denis et Sotteville-lès-Rouen.)
  • Toulouse: the pink city bans VUL and PL Crit’Air 4, in addition to the Crit’Air 5 already in force.

LEZ already criticized

According to Alexandra Leujeune, from Ligue de Défense des Automobilistes «for now, the subject of the LEZ is still a volcano rumbling in the distance, but when it explodes, we should not be surprised”. The same is true of the association 40 million motorists, which describes these zones as “time bombs”. These motorists also reproach not being able to circulate freely with their vehicles.

A real wave of criticism was unleashed after this news. But the state does not intend to stop there. As you can see, the EPZs will continue to multiply until they reach 40 (43) in 2025.

© Ministère de la Transition écologique